Innokin Zenith 2, which Z Coil for which wattage and e-liquid
The Zenith 2 takes a whole family of coils that look almost identical, and the figures printed on the boxes do not always match the ones the brand publishes. With the Innokin Zenith 2, the same question keeps coming back, which Z Coil to fit, at what wattage, with which e-liquid. Shop listings rarely answer it, and plenty of people end up setting it by ear, which this tank does not deserve.
Which Z Coil to choose for the Innokin Zenith 2
For a tight mouth-to-lung draw, the answer comes down to two coils. The 1.6 ohm and 1.2 ohm Z Coils, both rated MTL by Innokin, run between 10 and 14 W, the lowest range in the family. The 0.8 ohm, which the manual describes as a warmer vape needing more wattage, sits just above, at around 15 to 17 W.
For a looser draw, the 1.0 ohm is aimed at restricted direct lung vaping between 20 and 25 W, and the 0.3 ohm mesh goes up to 30 to 40 W. The six Z Coils in Innokin’s guide all take an e-liquid between 40/60 and 70/30 VG/PG, with freebase nicotine or nicotine salts alike.
The Innokin Zenith 2 Z Coil chart according to Innokin
The chart below follows the Z-Coil guide Innokin publishes for the six coils it covers, completed by the official Zenith II page for the 0.3 ohm mesh, which the guide leaves out. Innokin states that the Zenith 2 works with every current Z Coil.
| Z Coil | Stated style | Wattage | VG/PG ratio | Wick |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1.6 ohm | MTL | 10 to 14 W | 40/60 to 70/30 | organic cotton |
| 1.2 ohm | MTL | 10 to 14 W | 40/60 to 70/30 | wood pulp and organic cotton |
| 0.8 ohm | MTL | 14 to 17 W | 40/60 to 70/30 | organic cotton |
| Plexus 0.5 ohm | MTL | 12 to 16 W | 40/60 to 70/30 | wood pulp and organic cotton |
| Plex3D 0.48 ohm | MTL | 12 to 16 W | 40/60 to 70/30 | wood pulp and organic cotton |
| 1.0 ohm | RDL | 20 to 25 W | 40/60 to 70/30 | wood pulp and organic cotton |
| Mesh 0.3 ohm | RDL | 30 to 40 W | not stated | not stated |
All six coils in the guide are kanthal. The guide also recommends a nicotine strength of up to 20 mg for every one of them, which lines up with the UK ceiling. Regulation 36 of the Tobacco and Related Products Regulations 2016 caps nicotine e-liquid at 20 mg/ml and refillable tanks at 2 ml.
What the chart tells you about the Innokin Zenith 2, and what it leaves out
Read closely, the chart teaches three things that no single box of coils shows, and all three change the way the tank is set up.
Resistance does not set the wattage
The usual rule says the lower the resistance, the more watts it needs. The guide says otherwise. The 0.5 ohm Plexus and the 0.48 ohm Plex3D run between 12 and 16 W, lower than the 0.8 ohm, rated at 14 to 17 W. The structure of the coil plays a part, and only the range published for each model counts.
One ratio for every Z Coil
Innokin does not split its coils by e-liquid. The six Z Coils in the guide share the same window, from 40/60 to 70/30. The choice is therefore made on draw style and wattage, not on thickness. An 80% VG e-liquid, on the other hand, falls outside the window for all six, whatever the resistance.
Two published ranges for the 0.8 ohm
The Zenith II page and the coil box give 15 to 18 W for the 0.8 ohm, the Z-Coil guide 14 to 17 W. The guide says its figures are the most recent and take precedence over the packaging. In practice, starting in the overlap between the two sources, from 15 to 17 W, avoids guessing.
Setting the Innokin Zenith 2 airflow for each coil
The ring on the Zenith 2 carries two kinds of opening. The manual shows an MTL position made of small holes and an RDL position shaped as a slot. Innokin says it started from the Zenith Pro’s airflow and refined it, for a tighter, smoother mouth-to-lung draw without giving up restricted direct lung.
The setting follows the coil. A Z Coil marked MTL in the chart goes with the small holes, opened gradually while drawing slowly until the pull stops feeling forced. The 1.0 ohm and the 0.3 ohm mesh, rated RDL, go with the slot, the position the manual links to restricted direct lung vaping.
The drip tip follows the same logic. Innokin supplies an Ultem drip tip for a tight draw and a Teflon one for restricted direct lung. As the brand does not publish the sizes of its airflow holes, comparing two openings in figures is a matter of geometry, area and diameter squared, as explained in our guide to setting up the Aspire Nautilus.
Changing a Z Coil without flooding the base
The Zenith 2 lost the automatic e-liquid shut-off fitted to earlier Zenith tanks. Innokin removed it in favour of a replaceable glass, a choice that changes how you swap coils.
Removing and priming
The coil sits in the base, which unscrews from the tank. With no valve to hold the e-liquid back, it is best to change the Z Coil when the tank is nearly empty, holding it upside down. The manual then asks for four to five drops of e-liquid on the new coil to soak the cotton before refitting it.
Filling from the top
Filling is done by twisting the top cap to uncover the fill port. Fill, then twist back to close. The manual is firm on one point, do not leave the cap open longer than needed. Innokin has also added a silicone seal around the port and tightened the cap’s tolerances, partly so that it no longer catches beard hair.
FAQ
These questions come up often around the Zenith and its coils, without being covered above.
When should I change the coil in a Zenith?
When the flavour fades or turns burnt even though the wattage sits within the Z Coil’s range and the tank is properly filled. Neither the manual nor the Zenith II page gives a set lifespan, so taste is the guide.
Which coil fits a Zenith Pro?
The same ones. Innokin’s Z-Coil guide lists the Zenith Pro as compatible with the whole range, from the 1.6 ohm to the 1.0 ohm meant for restricted direct lung vaping.
Which Z Coil suits a 50/50 e-liquid?
Any coil in the guide. A 50/50 falls within the 40/60 to 70/30 window the manufacturer gives for all six Z Coils, so the choice comes down to the draw you want.
Are Zenith coils and Z Coils the same thing?
Yes. At the end of 2019 Innokin announced that boxes marked Zenith and boxes marked Z Coil held the same coils, the second name replacing the first.
What capacity is the Zenith 2 in the UK?
The official page lists 5.5 ml or 2 ml depending on the version. Because refillable tanks are limited to 2 ml in the UK, the 2 ml version is the one that applies here.
Innokin Zenith 2, the right Z Coil before the right setting
On this tank, everything starts with the coil. It sets the wattage range, the side of the ring to use and the most suitable drip tip, while the e-liquid stays free within a wide window. Innokin’s chart is enough to find your way, as long as you read the range for each Z Coil rather than reasoning on resistance alone.
The same care applies to every mouth-to-lung tank, where each maker publishes its own ranges. Keeping this chart to hand is the simplest way to get what an Innokin Zenith 2 does best, a clean flavour.
In the same nook
- The JustFog Q16 in practice, filling, switching on and changing the coil
- Kangertech, a historic name in tight-draw vaping, from the EVOD to the Protank
- Choosing a vape tank for a mouth-to-lung draw, capacity, glass and filling
L’Alcôve Feutrée is written for adult readers only. Vaping products usually contain nicotine, which is addictive, and nicotine vaping products are not for sale to anyone under 18 in the UK. This piece describes equipment and is not a buying recommendation.